There are two camps of people… when they hear about the “Oprah thing”

16 days ago – March 1st, 2011, I launched my social media campaign designed to get the attention of Oprah and her team with the goal to get two tickets to her show.

I created a Facebook page, a YouTube page and a Twitter hashtag #SaveMeASeatOprah.

As some of you may or may not know, social media is what I live and breathe day in and day out. Part of my job is to manage, create and implement a successful social media strategy. It is a central core to our company. It’s because of my experience and belief in social media that I know if implemented correctly it can work!

I have to admit, I was hesitant to actually do this campaign. I spent some time really thinking about if I should actually do this – to put myself out there – to risk looking silly – to deal with what people would say or what people would think of me. In just 16 days it has been a really interesting journey. When I tell people about my dream and my social media campaign I find that people fall into one of two camps.

Camp #1. These people are totally onboard, so excited that I am doing this, some even slightly jealous that they didn’t have the guts to do it too! These people have been awesome. At first it was just friends and family but now I have people reaching out to me who I don’t know except somehow through the power of social media, have heard about me and my dream, and are totally onboard for cheering me on and spreading the word. These are the people that are constantly retweeting my posts, sharing my link on Facebook, even writing blog posts about me! These people ROCK!

Here is a good example below – I have never met Lynda or Audeliz (see below) but we have met through social media:

Camp #2. The second camp of people are the people that smile politetly, ask a question or two and then change the subject. These are the people that make little sarcastic jabs about what I’m doing as if to imply, “THIS, this is your ‘dream’?” Granted, I’m not talking about curing cancer or climbing Mt. Everest, and yes this is not my ONLY dream in life (LOL!), but it something that has been on my Bucket List for a very long time.

In any event, this whole experience has been really eye-opening about what happens when you put yourself out there, when you dare to look silly, when you dare to do something that other people haven’t done.

Going to see Oprah may not be everyone’s dream, but it’s my dream.

Doesn’t every dream, big or small, deserve validation?

On a side note – as many of you know, there was a two-hour window open yesterday on Oprah’s site to get tickets to her show for April. I filled out a reservation request for every date she had available. Sadly, I received an email from her team this morning that they were “unable to accommodate my reservation request.” My first response was “ARGH!!! THAT SUCKS!” 🙂

Yes, this is really what I looked like!

But then I re-read their email, took their advice, and clicked on the “last minute reservation request” and filled it out one more time. I am not giving up… every dream is worth working for, right?!

On top of it, I’ve been a little behind on my video blogs – I’ve been so sick these last few days, I don’t think anyone wants to see me on video!! But, I am working on a plan for my video for:

 

I would love your feedback and ideas for my video – here are what a few people have already suggested:

Do you have any other ideas? Please leave me a comment below – I am open to just about anything!

Thanks again everyone… especially if you are in Camp #1. And if you in Camp #2… can you just pretend to be in Camp #1? 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Oprah. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

