Inspiring the world

This last week has been a journey for me. Pretty much everyone who knows me knows that I admire Oprah Winfrey and would love to get tickets to her show. I know a lot of people say they’d love to go to her show, kind of like people say they’d like to go to Disneyland or Europe one day – they would love to do it “one day” but aren’t particularly moved to do anything about it right now.

For me, going to the Oprah show has been on my “Bucket List” for some time now. Not that I plan on kicking the bucket anytime soon – but it’s definitely on my top 10 list!

Why?

I really admire Oprah as I know millions of people do. There are very few people in the world like her. I love that she stands in a league of her own. She is so much more than a talk show host, magazine creator, network founder – although she is all those things.

To me she represents the part in all of us that wishes we could DO more and BE more. The part that wishes we had the resources to help the poor, empower children, invigorate young entrepreneurs, make a difference on a grand scale, and to do something bigger than we can imagine.

She represents women in a very profound way. She came from a very poor upbringing and has endured many painful hurts and tragedies in her life. She is a real reminder that no matter how much money or fame you have, it doesn’t erase the past. However, as Oprah proves day in and day out, regardless of where you began – that is no indication for where you can be headed.

Oprah inspires me every day. I watch her and see how polished and poised she is and how confident she is. She is the consummate professional – always prepared, not afraid to ask the tough questions, but not afraid to be emotional and to let her emotions show.

I’ll never forget when her staff surprised her many years back, and Oprah’s 4th grade teacher Mrs. Duncan came on the show. Oprah was so moved and touched, she cried what she calls “the ugly cry” 🙂 – we’ve all been there, right? But why was she so moved? Because Mrs. Duncan inspired her, she told her she was pretty, and was a mentor to her from when she was just a little girl. We all have people like that, that inspire us to be better and to do better.

Mrs. Duncan surprises Oprah!

I also love the standard Oprah has set – some people call it the “gold standard.” For lack of a better word, she doesn’t have crap on her show! Her and her team truly rise above each and every episode. My new favorite show is Season 25: Oprah Behind the Scenes because it gives a birds-eye view to the amazingly talented people who make the Oprah Winfrey show work the way it does. There is an extremely high bar set – where the words “good enough” just don’t exist.

Oprah, you truly inspire me. If you or anyone from your team is reading this, I want more than anything to sit in your audience before your final season ends. It would be a true honor to be chosen.

Instead of just wishing I could attend your show, I’ve created a Facebook page to show you how much it would mean to me to attend. In just 6 days, I’ve already acquired over 180 fans who are rooting me on and helping me to spread the word. My message has been retweeted on Twitter dozens of times – we even have a hashtag #SaveMeASeatOprah.

I’ve also been posting videos on YouTube as well, in hopes that you will get to know me and my heart and understand why it would mean so much to me.

Thank you for inspiring not just me – but the world.

This entry was posted in Oprah. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inspiring the world

  1. so touching, Katie. I believe this campaign you are on will take you on an important journey… one that would make Oprah proud. Since I’ve known you (what… almost 5 years now???), you’ve continually inspired me with your graciousness, your willingness to try harder, your ability to bring people together, and your lovely sunshiney personality.

    Go get your dream, girl!

  2. katielance says:

    Thank you so much Cynthia – I really appreciate it. It has been an interesting journey so far! You are so sweet – thank you for being such an encouraging friend!!

    You are the best!!

  3. Pingback: Oprah, I need a Harpo Hook-Up! | Mommyhood and Marketing

Leave a Reply

