Wherever you are at – just begin

Tonight I caught the last half of the movie “Julie and Julia” – starring Amy Adams and Meryl Streep.

If you haven’t seen it yet, I highly recommend it. First of all, almost anything Meryl Streep is in is always worth watching, but beyond that it is a wonderful film about food, relationships, and of course my favorite subject blogging!

For those of you who haven’t seen the movie, without spoiling anything, the premise is that Amy Adams’ character, Julie decides to start a blog. She will cook her way through Julia Child’s cookbook one day at a time and blog about it every day. The movie has a wonderful way of flashing between Julie and Julia’s lives and I got a real taste (no pun intended :)) of what Julia Child was like and the pioneer she really was.

I love the idea of a blog like the one Julie (in the movie) created. In fact I think I watched this movie for the first time shortly before starting this blog. I think it resonates with me because like Julie, I am often self consiouse about my writing. I think any blogger at some point in time thinks, “does anyone care what I’m writing?”, “is anyone really reading this?” (besides my mom!), or “am I a good enough writer?”

There is a part in the movie where Julie’s blog becomes very popular and she starts getting phone calls with book requests, calls from literary agents and she exclaims, “I am going to become a writer!” and her husband lovingly says, “you already are.”

I think that for a lot of us, we think if we can just get that one thing that is holding us back we can attain it.

“If I could just make more money I could be successful.”

“If I could just get some help I could be a better mom.”

“If there were just more hours in the day, them I could get it all done.”

Whatever it is, we have all said things like this.

I know I have – “one day when I am a really good writer then I’ll start a great blog.” But then I realized – why not start now.

Why not. Start right now – wherever you are. Don’t wait. Life is too short.

You want to be a writer? Then write. Want to be a designer? Then design. Want to be an actor? Take acting lessons! Make it happen.

In a few days we will all be sitting around making our yearly new years resolutions. Make this year the year you don’t wait for that one thing to happen to make you happy. Just start right where you are, and put one foot in front of the other.

Just begin.

You may surprise yourself!

This entry was posted in Blogging/Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

