Being a mother, a daughter, and a friend

I don’t have much time to read, so when I take the time to read a book, you better believe it is worth it! If you haven’t heard of Kelly Corrigan, you are missing out.

I first heard Kelly of Kelly when I watched this video that a friend emailed me (see below.) I have probably watched it a half a dozen times and cry every time I see it.

I think this video resonates with me because I can totally relate to her mom’s friends “The Pigeons.” We all have dear friends like that – friends have seen you at your absolute best and your absolute worst. That’s what a true friend is all about.

The second time I heard of Kelly Corrigan, was when my mom lent me the book, The Middle Place. That book probably sat on my night stand for months until someone else emailed me this video again, and I put two and two together – that this author in the video was the same author who wrote the book. I opened up The Middle Place and could not put it down – within a couple days I had finished it.

The book is a beautiful and touching story. Kelly talks about that sliver of time when you are in “The Middle Place” – a daughter but also a mother. She talks about her battle with cancer and her dad’s battle, as well as what it’s like to be a wife and mom. She is so poignant – she writes just like your best friend would sound if you were sitting down together for a cup of coffee and having a heart-to-heart.

Here’s a short excerpt from the book:

“I called my parents from the maternity ward and cried through the following: “Mom, Dad, it’s a girl, and Dad, we named her after you. We named her Georgia.”

Three years after that, almost to the day, I called home to tell my parents that I had cancer.

And that’s what this whole thing is about. Calling home. Instinctively. Even when all the paperwork—a marriage license, a notarized deed, two birth certificates, and seven years of tax returns—clearly indicates you’re an adult, but all the same, there you are, clutching the phone and thanking God that you’re still somebody’s daughter.”

Her latest book Lift, came out earlier this year and I devoured it the day I brought it home.

Here is a wonderful video of Kelly reading an excerpt of Lift:

I love how Kelly talks about how moms never regret their children – so true. And I love how she talks about motherhood. How can you put into words what its like to love your child – you think you know. I thought I knew, but I didn’t really know until it happened to me.

If you want to read two outstanding books, or you are looking for a special gift for one of your girlfriends,  I highly recommend both of them!

Have you read either one of these? Would love your feedback – leave me a comment below!

 

This entry was posted in Motherhood, Products. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

