Adventures in cooking – the first dinner I ever made

I think being on maternity leave has made me more domestic, which is why I was inspired to cook my first dinner for my husband. Ever. In 9 years.

9 years? Yep! How is this possible? Well, I’ve never been interested in cooking, I have an issue with touching raw meat, I am impatient, and I have a wonderful husband who loves to cook!

However, a few weeks ago, I got the domestic urge to prepare a meal. A friend on Facebook suggested a site for recipesMeal Makeover Moms. I perused the site and settled on a dish that seemed somewhat easy and better yet involved just one pot – a crock pot. I could handle that!

So yesterday I loaded Luke up in the car, drove to the store, put him in the shopping cart, and walked around with my list to make my first dinner.

If anyone was watching me closely, you would have gotten a big laugh. I was like a fish out of water. I know the snack and frozen food aisles well – but everything in between is a bit of a blur to me. Luke drifted in an out of sleep as we trolled the asisles of Raley’s. He did open his eyes once or twice and looked me as if to say “Do you know what you are doing mom?”

The answer would have been “no!”

Here are just a few of the thoughts that went through my head as I was shopping (I even said a few of these things out loud – yes I was the crazy lady talking to herself at the grocery store holding a bag of peas!):

  • Is there a difference between snow peas and just regular peas?
  • It would have been good to not just write down WHAT to buy but HOW MUCH. Whoops.
  • Isn’t all syrup maple syrup – surprisingly no! And it’s expensive!
  • Cider vinegar – what the heck is that?
  • Cornstarch – never bought it, but I was right to look down the baking aisle for it. I have no clue what this is for.
  • Stew meat – $5 a pack? Isn’t that kind of a lot? I was pleasantly surprised it was actually labeled “Stew Meat.”
  • Tomato sauce is NOT the same thing as pasta sauce – I had no idea! AND it’s on a different aisle too!

Then, I was feeling pretty confident in myself so I decided to make dessert. After a few minutes in the baking aisle I chose something I was comfortable with – a yellow cake and chocolate frosting, and of course sprinkles for Owen. I figured I could bake a cake or cupcakes. I do like to bake! I think I like baking because a) I have a super sweet tooth and b) when you bake, the item is usually around for a couple days, not 20 minutes like a meal!

Heading home, I felt very wifely – I was going to prepare dinner AND dessert!

BEFORE:

AFTER:

MY BACK-UP PLAN: πŸ™‚

The good news is that it wasn’t half bad! I did mess up the cornstarch at the end, but other than that, I think I did pretty good for my first time. I even had a nice french bread with dinner.

Now, the big question is… “what’s for dinner tonight?” AACK!Β This could be exhausting! πŸ™‚

If you have any cooking or recipe tips leave me a comment below. I am open to new ideas!

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Adventures in cooking – the first dinner I ever made

  1. Gen says:

    I like to cook for the week. Cook 3 double meals on Sunday, freeze 1/2 And defrost the 1/2 from the week before, then ever week you have 6 different meals.

  2. cyn says:

    Nice job, wifey! Really bring a fresh view to “beginner’s mind”! Keep up the good work – and by that I mean, telling funny stories about family! πŸ™‚

  3. katielance says:

    Gen – that’s a great idea! One step at a time for me. How great that you are able to do that – it must take a lot of stress out of “what’s for dinner?”

    Cynthia – thank you! I will!! πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Maternity leave the second time around | Mommyhood and Marketing

Leave a Reply

