Making time for happiness

courtesy: google imagesI’ve been thinking a lot lately about happiness. What makes us happy, what makes me happy, and why some people seem happier than others. I started following Gretchen Rubin’s “The Happiness Project.” I admit, I am not following her plan religiously (c’mon I’m a new mom here!!) 🙂 But, I really enjoy her weekly video thoughts for the week.

It’s really made me think about this thing called happiness. I think happiness is something that a lot of people view as friviolous – not as important as hard work, a strong work ethic or discpline. Those are qualities that people respect. But happiness? Not always.

I think a lot of people regard happiness as a “nice to have” not a “need to have” in life. As I started thinking more of the things that really made me happy, and I realized there were a lot of things that made me happy that I neglected or stopped doing because they seemed frivolous or not as important as my pressing and never-ending “to do” lists.

I’ve realized that when you neglect what makes you happy, you become like a houseplant that you forget to water for a couple days days (or weeks.) You feel wilted and just not 100% yourself. So what have I started doing to be happier?

I’ve realized that being happy is not any one one big change in your life – it’s doing a lot of the little things that make you happy.

Here are somethings that make me happy:

1. Spending more time with the people who matter to me – family and friends.

2. Taking care of myself and my home. Make your home a restful place, a place you are happy to come home to. I’ve enjoyed buying a few new things here and there for our home that make it feel more cozy and warm – a new pillow, new candles. Small luxuries!

3. Holding my baby and not worrying about the dishes in the sink, the laundry to be folded, the toys on the floor. Those will get done – they always will, but my baby is growing and changing literally every moment.

4. Being thankful and grateful for what I have and not what I don’t have. Sometimes easier said than done, but I strive to be grateful. I am so blessed.

5. Reflecting back on how far I have come. Last week I opened up one of my scrapbooks and looked back at the hand-me-down furniture we had when we first got married and our small apartment and reminded myself of how far we have come!

6. Being creative. Taking time each day to be creative and giving that as much importance as anything else. I’ve tried to make time – some days more than others, to be creative. I realized I am a much more complete person when I feed that important part of who I am.

7. Turning the TV off. It’s so peaceful without the drone of the TV in the background! Finding moments of quiet is not always easy in a house with a newborn or a toddler – but when everyone is asleep, I relish in the quietness!

8. Playing with my boys and enjoying the stage they are at right here – right now. I wrote about this a little while back – and I really strive to enjoy every age at every stage.

9. Talking to my husband. It’s easy to feel like ‘ships passing in the night’ – but taking the time to turn off the TV, the computer, put our iPhones down, and spend sometime together just the two of us is key.

10. Planning our next date night out or time away. A vacation seems like so far away at this point. But, I’ve started thinking about it – even if it’s just a night away – sometimes the planning part is as much fun as the actual going away!

11. Blogging and writing. I’ve always enjoyed writing and now making time to write on this blog has brought me so much fulfillment.

What makes you happy? Are you taking the time to do the things you really love in life?I’d love to hear your comments and feedback, leave me a comment below!

 

This entry was posted in Family, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

