Every age is my favorite age

I seem to be saying lately that this age is my favorite age.

Owen is 3 and Luke is 6 weeks. Owen is at such a cute age. He talks all the time, uses his imagination, can somewhat get dressed/undressed by himself, and is more and more independent every day. He is such a happy boy – laughing and playing all day long. He is also cautious – not quick to jump into a group of kids without waiting a few minutes to check them out. He loves his little brother so much. He comes over to him when he’s feeding to help hold the bottle or pat him on the head. This age is definitely one of my favorite ages.

Luke is 6 weeks old. What’s not to love about a newborn? I forgot how wonderful and cuddly they are at this age; 100% dependent on you to take care of their every need. Little fuzzy head, little warm body, the cutest cooing sounds, the first smiles, their big beautiful eyes taking everything around them… I love it all!

What’s funny, is as I say all this, I realize that at every stage I have said these words: “This is my favorite age!” Every stage and every age has it’s own joys and milestones and of course challenges and tears. 🙂

I know for sure that I am not a perfect mom, but one thing I have always tried to do from day one with both my boys is thoroughly enjoy what stage they were at that moment. I think so many times we say “oh, I can’t wait until they are _____ years old, them it will be easier” – which may be true, but if possible, just enjoy every moment. They grow and change so fast. In a few weeks my newborn won’t be a newborn – and it will remind me how much I love when they are 2 and 3 months old. 🙂 As the saying goes,

“Yesterday is history, tomorrow a mystery, today is a gift, thats why it’s called the present!”

I love my kids – and I especially love this age!

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Every age is my favorite age

  1. Marisa Cox says:

    This is so totally true. I am glad you are so enjoying the newborn age, that is definitely one of my favorites, to the point where I want to cry when I hold a newborn because I want another one so bad!!! But at this point, 15 months, 3 and 5 are the BEST ages for us. It is so fun to watch each stage, and to watch each kid be so different from the older one at the same age…parenting is the most amazing experience. We are so lucky.

  2. katielance says:

    Thanks for leaving me a comment Marisa. I give you so much credit – I don’t know how you balance it all. You are my hero! I agree, parenting is truly the most amazing experience – and it’s all about the little moments, right?!

    We are so lucky!!
    Katie

  3. Pingback: Making time for happiness |

Leave a Reply

