Why I have a love/hate relationship with the pacifier

I’m sure I’m a lot like other moms and dads. I have a love/hate relationship with Luke’s pacifier. I know there is some debate about whether to use a pacifier or not, and how long a child should use one. For a newborn, I do think it helps soothe a baby and I’ve also read it can help to reduce the risk of SIDS.

However… sometimes that “binkie” drives mommy BONKERS!

Here’s the scenario:

3 AM – I fed Luke about 2 AM, I’ve burped and rocked him, and he’s pretty much asleep. I go into our room, and lay him down in the Pack ‘N Play near our bed. I wrap him up snuggly and give him his pacifier.

“Suck, Suck Suck.” (think Maggie Simpson here).

I go to our bed and sit down. And wait.

“Suck, Suck Suck.” CLICK.

Uh oh. That’s the sound.

The sound that it fell out.

“Baby grunts, baby cooing, baby grunts.”

That’s my cue. I get up and put the pacifier back in. Poor kid – he is bobbing his head around trying to put it in himself. He gets an “A” for effort. 🙂 This routine continues for about a half hour. Now it’s really quiet. I peek in the Pack N Play – he’s asleep! But the pacifier is stuck next to his head. Do I dare remove it and chance waking him up? I wait another 5 minutes and with stealth precision remove the pacifier.

4:15 to possibly 5 AM – I creep back into bed carefully and quietly to sleep for a couple more hours.

Why else do I have a love/hate relationship with the pacifier? I love that it calms him down. I hate when it falls out on the floor. I hate that panic of “WHERE IS HIS PACIFIER!!” I hate that he will only take a certain pacifier. I hate that it kind of looks like a plug. That all being said, I know we will probably only use the pacifier until he is 2 or 3 months old – I don’t think my nerves could handle it much longer!

And don’t worry, he won’t be one of those 4 year olds running around with it! My mom will make sure of it. 🙂

So what are you thoughts about the pacifier? Love it or hate it or both? Leave me a comment!

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

