Reflections as I turn 35…

There is nothing like a birthday to make you feel really loved!

Today I am 35 – and as the cartoon Cathy would say “AACK!” Side note – I can’t believe that the Cathy cartoon has ended its run as of yesterday – the end of an era!! Now what cartoons will my mom and I cut out and give to each other?? πŸ™‚

Thank you to everyone who has wished me a happy birthday.. .it really means so much.

I really can’t believe I am 35. I must quote my favorite movie, When Harry Met Sally:

Sally: “I’m going to be 40!!”

Harry: “When?”

Sally: “SOMEDAY!” πŸ™‚

I was thinking back last night to when I was 25, 15, 10, and 5 – and where I was in my life at different points. It’s funny, you think you’ll remember all the details of your life – every celebration, every funny moment, but I am realizing you really don’t. Certain things stand out in your mind and then others I find myself scratching my head. This is one of the reasons I started scrapbooking shortly after getting married in 2001 – to record those moments.

When I was 25…

10 years ago – where was I? It was October 2000 – I was working full time as a District Manager for Vector Marketing. I loved my job but was wondering what else I was missing. Β I was working in Whittier and living in Seal Beach. I loved Seal Beach – in fact it’s probably one of my favorite places to be. I was living in a studio the size of a closet – no joke, it was probably 400 sq. feet. I had not met Paul yet. I did not know that in 6 months I would meet my future husband and father to my 2 boys! I was not dating anyone… I remember feeling like “gosh I am a quarter of a century old!” I don’t remember who I celebrated with… but I do remember wondering when I was going to meet “Mr. Right” – little did I know, he was just about to enter my life.

When I was 15…

It was October 1990… I was a freshman in high school. Later this month I would meet the boy I dated for 2 years – my 1st love and my 1st broken heart. I wish I knew then, what I know now – that I was smart and pretty and much thinner than I thought I was! I was so self-conconsious – wishing I was as cool as the popular kids – and wishing I had better hair πŸ™‚

When I was 10…

October 1985… Ironically a few months ago I found a VHS tape of my 10th birthday party at my parents house. If you haven’t seen a video of yourself when you were a kid, I recommend digging around to check one out. It was surreal – my adult self watching my 10 year old self. I was watching it and remembering just how I was feeling – awkward, not a little kid but certainly not a teenager yet, and trying to fit in. I looked at who I invited – and I thought “why did I invite so-and-so?” – and the answer was because I was trying to fit in. Β All in all though, I am really lucky – I had a great childhood, wonderful parents, and really happy memories. Also, I just realized MY mom was 35 when I was 10. I never thought of that before today.

When I was 5…

How many memories do you have when you are 5? I have scattered memories from when I was 4 and 5 – some of them are kind of like dreams – and others are pieced together from pictures and stories from my parents. I don’t remember my 5th birthday – but I remember being in Kindergarten – I was painfully shy and so attached to my mom. I turned 5 one month after being in Kindegarten, so from then forward I was alway sone of the “younger” kids in my class. I still remember my teacher, my classroom, my stuffed animal squirrel that got lost after bringing it for ‘show and tell,’ my favorite dolly, my bedroom… Β 5 was a good age. πŸ™‚

So now I am 35, a mom to two amazing boys, married to a great guy who totally puts up with me πŸ™‚ and daughter to the world’s greatest parents.

I have my dream job and I feel so blessed to have so many wonderful friends. Today I woke up to my 3 year old Owen coming into bed and opening my presents for me (he loves presents), and our 3 week old Luke waking up next to us in his Pack ‘N Play. I am going to spend the day with Luke – still on maternity leave, and enjoying every moment because even in my sleep-deprived and bad hair state – I know these moments will pass by too quickly.

Than you everyone who has touched my life and made me feel so special today and everyday… xoxo

This entry was posted in Family, Home, Marriage, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflections as I turn 35…

  1. Marisa Cox says:

    What an awesome blog Katie!!! LOVE it! What a good idea to think back at all those big moments in your life. It takes a lot for me to try to remember that far back!!! You are a great writer, I loved this! Keep it up!

    • Jack Graham says:

      Katie — daughter of my life — that was absolutely beautiful all of your reflections. I cried reading it, all of your personal reflections. It’s amazing how time goes by and you ask yourself, where did the time go? Mom and I are so blessed to have you as a daughter. We wear our new moniker “Grandma and Grandpa” with lots of joy, pride and love to you, Paul and the boys.

  2. katielance says:

    Thank you so much Marisa!! I really appreciate it. I love reading your blog too! Thanks for the feedback!

    Katie

  3. katielance says:

    Thank you Dad – that really means so much. We are so happy for you guys in this next phase of your life – as grandparents!! Love you so much!
    Katie

Leave a Reply

